George Davidson Medal

George Davidson MedalThe George Davidson Medal derives from a bequest in 1946 from the estate of Ellinor Campbell Davidson for the establishment of a medal and research fund in memory of her father, George Davidson, the California scientist and geographer. AGS awards the medal for “…exceptional achievement in research for exploration in the Pacific Ocean or the lands bordering thereon.” The medal was designed by Paul Manship.


1952 George Babcock Cressey
1972 F. Raymond Fosberg
1974 Joseph Spencer
1975 Shinzo Kiuchi
1988 Hiroshi Ishida
1999 Hou Renzhi
2001 David Stoddart