Van Cleef Memorial Medal

Van Cleef Memorial MedalThe Van Cleef Memorial Medal was established in 1970 through a gift from Dr. Eugene Van Cleef, Professor Emeritus of Geography at the Ohio State University, who contributed a medal fund in memory of his wife, Frieda.  Dr. Van Cleef gave the first course in urban geography in an American University in 1923 and published the first book by an American geographer in urban themes in 1937.  The award is conferred on scholars who have done outstanding original work in the field of urban geography, preferably, though not necessarily in applied rather than theoretical aspects.  The medal was designed by Joseph DiLorenzo.


1970 John R. Borchert
1974 Harold Rose
1985 Jacqueline Beaujeu-Garnier
1987 James E. Vance, Jr.
1999 Susan Hanson